EDUCATION IN QUEBEC.

Anne de Bellevue. The latter, founded, erected, equipped and endowed by Sir William Macdonald of Montreal at a cost of nearly \$7,000,000, is organized in three Departments: (1) the school of agriculture; (2) the school for teachers and (3) the school of household science. The school of agriculture combines theoretical and practical instruction with research work. The ordinary courses extend over two years for a Diploma in Agriculture and over four years for the degree of Bachelor of Science in Agriculture (B.S.A.).

ONTARIO.

General Organization.—In Ontario, education is under the control of a Department of Education, now conducted by virtue of the Department of Education Act, passed by the Ontario Legislative Assembly in 1909 (9 Edw. VII, c. 88). The Department is presided over by a Minister of Education as its political head. A Deputy Minister of Education acts as permanent administrative chief, and a Superintendent of Education has the general supervision and direction of schools, teachers' examinations and school inspectors. Under the control of the Department are public elementary schools (including kindergartens), continuation schools, night schools, high schools, collegiate institutes, art schools, model schools, normal schools, teachers' institutes, libraries, technical and industrial schools. As now organized, the Ontario system of education may fairly be described as an organic whole, elementary, secondary and higher education being duly co-ordinated.

Elementary Education.—Elementary education in Ontario owes its main features to the late Rev. Dr. Egerton Ryerson, who, appointed Chief Superintendent of Education in 1844, held this office for 32 years. From the Common Schools Act of 1846 his term of administration included a successive series of education acts culminating in the Ontario School Law of 1871 which gave effect to the following principles: (1) free tuition; (2) compulsory education of children of school age; (3) county inspection and (4) uniform examinations for promotion to the high schools. Under the existing law, and especially the Public Schools Act of 1909 (9 Edw. VII, c. 89), elementary education is provided for in Public Schools, and in what are known as "Separate Schools" for the children of Roman Catholics. Both of these classes of schools are controlled by boards of trustees. In rural districts the townships are divided into school sections, and the trustees, three in number, hold office for three years, one going out of office annually, when his successor In urban districts each ward is represented by two trustees. or in municipalities, where there is no division into wards, six trustees are elected. The duties of the trustees as laid down by the Public Schools Act include the provision, equipment and maintenance of schools. the engagement of teachers and the preparation of financial estimates. The legal school age is from 5 to 21 years and the compulsory age of attendance is from 8 to 14. The financial support of the schools is derived from three sources, viz., (1) the appropriation from the Legislature; (2) county rates and (3) municipal assessments. Each school is opened with the reading of Scripture and the Lord's Prayer, and is